Network for the promotion of young scientists!

The Assembly of Delegates of the TU-Nachwuchsring

In the TU-Nachwuchsring doctoral students, postdocs, junior research group leaders, junior professors and tenure-track professors from all departments as well as external volunteers are committed to the motto "by and for young scientists".

The basis of the TU-Nachwuchsring is the Assembly of Delegates in which 12 doctoral students and 12 young scientists with doctorates of the TUK are represented (one representative per department and status group). In addition, the various institutions of the Research Initiative, Collaborative Research Centers and Research Training Groups of the TUK have the possibility to delegate one additional person each.

The Assembly of Delegates meets once or twice a year to discuss budget issues, to elect the spokespersons of the TU-Nachwuchsring, to decide upon the members of the committees and to discus basic strategic issues. The development of the different funding lines then takes place in the committees of the Nachwuchsring.

You will find a list of the delegates together with information on the other organizational units of the TU-Nachwuchsring as well as on the work of the committees further down on this page.

The assembly of delegates is composed of one representative of the doctoral candidates (+ possibly a deputy) and one representative of the PhDs of each faculty. Coordinated programs and research initiatives can also send one representative each.

The assembly of delegates which meets once or twice a year discusses budget issues, elects the spokespersons and decides on the composition of the committees.


Current members of the Assembly of Delegates:


Representatives of the doctoral students

Jana Breßler (Department of Spatial and Environmental Planning)

Timo Dilly (Department of Civil Engineering, Deputy)

Gajendra Doniparthi (Department of Computer Science)

Niklas Erdmann (Department of Mechanical and Process Engineering)

Stephanie Faber (Department of Chemistry)

Florian Fuchs (Department of Economics)

Larissa Leist (Department of Social Sciences)

Maximilian Mertin (Department of Mathematics)

Jonathan Oltmanns (Department of Physics)

Anna Scherhag (Department of Biology)

Anja Tusch (Department of Civil Engineering, Helmut-Bode-Kolleg)

Roman Wiens (Department of Architecture)


Representatives of young scientists with doctoral degrees

Juniorprof. Dr. Sabine Becker (Department of Chemistry)

Juniorprof. Dr. Sophie Burkhart (Department of Computer Science)

Tenure-Track-Prof. Dr.-Ing. Kristin de Payrebrune (Department of Mechanical and Process Engineering)

Juniorprof. Dr. Sabine Filker (IRTG 1830, Department of Biology)

Juniorprof. Dr. Inken Heldt (Cognitive Dynamics)

Juniorprof. Dr. Lars Hopstock (Department of Architecture)

Juniorprof. Dr. Amru Hussein (Department of Mathematics)

Dr.-Ing. Lynn Schelisch (Department of Spatial and Environmental Planning)

Dr.-Ing. Judith Stiefelmaier (Department of Mechanical and Process Engineering, Deputy)

Dr. Johannes Straßner (Department of Physics)

Dr. phil. Anna Thomas (Department of Social Sciences)


Representatives of the externally funded doctoral programs

Dr. Florian Haag (SFB/TRR 173 Spin+X)

Andreas Lange (IRTG 2057)

Dr. Michael Kunte (SFB/TRR 195)

Anna Scherhag (IRTG 1830)

Annika Steiner (3MET SFB/ TRR 88)

Dr.-Ing. Dorina Strieth (SFB 926 Component Surfaces)

Anja Tusch (Helmut-Bode-Kolleg)

Juniorprof. Dr. Felix Willmund (SFB/TRR 175)


Representatives of the institutions of the Research Initiative RLP

Dr.-Ing. Aneta Daxinger (OPTIMAS)

Vera Eymann (AI Enhanced Cognition and Learning)

Dr. Werner Gerhartz (CEDIS)

Dr. Michael Kunte (SymbTools – Symbolic Tools in Mathematics and their Application)

Dr.-Ing. Kirsten Mangels (Region and city)

Raphael Petrikat (NanoKat - Systems for raw material change)

Luca Schäfer (MathApp – Mathematics applied to real-world challenges)

Dr. Nicole Stephan (ZNT - Center for Commercial Vehicle Technology)

Juniorprof. Dr. Felix Willmund (BioComp - Complex Data Analysis in Life Sciences and Biotechnology)

Max Wolkersdorfer (Cognitive Dynamics)  


The committees assume the tasks assigned to them by the Assembly of Delegates and the Board of Management and report to them regularly. Among others, they take care of the conceptual formulation and further development of the various funding lines, further education programs and other concerns of the TU-Nachwuchsring. In addition, the committees are responsible for reviewing and deciding on incoming applications for funding.  

The delegates are mainly involved in the committees. They are supported by TUK-internal and external volunteers who advise them.  


Current committees

Committee for research funding and coaching

Committee for mobility funding

Committee press / pr

Committee workshops

Temporary working groups

In addition to the permanent committees, temporary working groups form as needed to work on and implement temporary projects. They discuss current topics and concerns that affect young scientists at the TUK or that have been brought to the attention of the TU-Nachwuchsring.

WG Doctoral Student Representation (active)

Organizing Committee YRS (currently not active)

WG Criteria for Young Scientists (completed)

WG Rules of Procedure ("Geschäftsordnung", completed)


All young scientists are invited to participate as external members in the committees of the TU-Nachwuchsring! If you are interested please contact the administration office : Contact

The Nachwuchsring office is the primary contact for all questions oncerning the TU-Nachwuchsring and its funding lines. Among others, the tasks of the Nachwuchsring office include the supervision of the budget, the coordination and the support of the boards' work on all levels, the administration of the workshops, events and funding lines as well as public relations and external communication.

more Information

The spokesperson of the TU-Nachwuchsring, his/her deputies and the managing director or his/her deputy compose the executive board. It assumes the tasks assigned by the Board of management and the Assembly of Delegates and reports to the Board of management and the Supervisory board. Furthermore, it consults with the Supervisory board on far-reaching structural and organizational decisions.

Current members

The board of management consists of the member of the executive board and the spokespersons of the committees. The board of management has a quorum fot the TU-Nachwuchsring. If necessary, if can delegate tasks and competencies to the executive board as well as to the committees. The board of management meets four times a year.

Current members

The Supervisory Board consists of the Vice President for Research and Technology and three professors from the Research Initiative and the departments of TUK, who are appointed by the Vice President. The Supervisory Board meets at least once a year and supervises and approves the budget planning of the TU-Nachwuchsring. It is also responsible for establishing contacts and networks within and outside the university and ensures the structural and content-related evaluation and further development of the offerings of the TU-Nachwuchsring.

 ...more Information.

Zum Seitenanfang